Does Discord tell you if someone has blocked you?
Here’s the thing. Discord doesn’t tell you if you have been blocked by someone. So, how to know if someone blocked you on Discord? Well, there are two signs that you have to look out for:
- You don’t see the person anymore on your list of friends, that is, s/he has been removed
- You share a server similar to the person but all of their messages will no longer be visible to you
If you still want to read the messages of this person, there is a way out. Click on the button that says ‘Show Messages’ on your desktop or the button that says ‘Blocked Messages’ on your mobile.
We have more than 7 different ways to find out if you have been blocked on Discord by a friend.
To find if you have been blocked on Discord, you can use Clyde bot, check message reactions, try sending them direct messages and check error notifications Some other ways are to check their profile and try making a call.
You can unhide those messages on the server that you share with the other person. In simple words, you would know how to tell if someone blocked you on Discord. There are multiple ways of knowing if someone has blocked you on Discord as discussed below.
We will check how to find if someone blocked you on Discord and if there is a way to get yourself unblocked on Discord.
The two most commonly employed methods of determining if you have been blocked on Discord is the Clyde bot and the reactions to messages. Both have been discussed elaborately below.
How to tell if someone blocked you on Discord using Clyde bot
Clyde bot is an in-built bot that is available on Discord by default. If you are wondering how to tell if someone blocked you on Discord, it is through the notifications of your unresponsive actions.
That means, if you send a message to anyone you have been blocked by, you will be notified by Clyde bot about the same through the message below:
Your message could not be delivered because you don’t share a server with the recipient or you disabled direct messages on your shared server, the recipient is only accepting direct messages from friends, or you were blocked by the recipient.
What you must keep in mind though is that this bot won’t be able to tell you the exact reason behind the block. In fact, you will be provided with quite a few reasons pertaining to the message not being delivered.
Therefore, this answer to the question how to tell if someone blocked you on Discord may not be very reliable. Also, when you use your iPhone or Android, you will just receive an error message and you won’t even know if it is from the Clyde bot.
How to tell if someone blocked you on Discord using message reactions
Since the above method had reliability issues, here is another method that can answer the question how to tell if someone blocked you on Discord. That method is ‘message reactions.’
Usually, when you haven’t been blocked by another person, you can react to their messages and see those reactions as well. However, if the person has blocked you, you won’t be able to see the reactions. You might experience a vibration though.
When using a mobile phone, you will be notified with the alert ‘Reaction blocked‘ upon reacting to someone’s message.
How to tell if someone blocked you on Discord from your list of friends
If you have blocked someone, then they will no longer feature in your list of friends. The reverse is also true. As long as you are blocked, you cannot communicate them. Although, you will know if they are online and also be able to access their old chats.
How to tell if someone blocked you on Discord by sending them direct messages
To be sure if someone has blocked you, send them a message privately. If you have been blocked by the user then you won’t be able to ping that person or mention them using ‘@’ on shared servers. You may receive either of the two messages;
- Your direct message has been disabled on your server
- The server is accepting direct messages only from friends.
Either way, you will realise that you have been blocked.
When you use Discord, you end up sharing your server with someone else almost always in order to talk to them whenever you want to. But what happens when this person blocks you on Discord?
Is there anything that you can do about it? The short answer is, Nothing. So, how to know if someone blocked you on Discord? This is how:
How to know if someone blocked you on Discord via messaging them
When someone blocks you and you cannot chat with that person the way you used to previously, it is the most hurtful of things. You might feel like a very uninteresting person, because you have just been blocked by one of your friends.
You won’t receive any more messages from that person ever again, or for as long as they don’t unblock you. You will also realise that there is no sign available for this person when it comes to sending or receiving messages. These are two things that will definitely happen if you have been blocked.
The person in question may have also enabled the “don’t share a server” or “not to receive messages from non-friends” option or disabled the “direct messages” option.
How to know if someone blocked you on Discord via Error Notifications
If you are searching for the person who has blocked you on Discord, you may come across an error notification on your screen. This means that even though the person who has blocked you is receiving your texts, you won’t be able to view their profile even using Discord tags.
You must also remember that if you are texting someone and you experience a vibration on screen along with strange messages, it means you have been blocked.
How to know if someone blocked you on Discord via unavailability of profile
If your friend has blocked you on Discord, you will not be able to view their profile. You will also be removed from their list of friends automatically and won’t be able to access their details ever again.
Another way in which you can know that you have been blocked is if your friend has used the MUTE option. This option, however, will function only for Discord voice.
You won’t be able to speak to your friend and will only hear things towards the end. Most people activate this option instead of outrightly blocking their friends.
How to know if someone blocked you on Discord via making a call
If you share server with another friend,
- Open the page where you can view all participants sharing the server.
- Look for the friend who you think has blocked you and tap the call icon against their name.
- If you are unable to make a call, it means you have been blocked or even deleted.
Something extra for being a patient reader…
The above methods should be a sufficient answer to the question ‘how to know if someone blocked you on Discord.’ But then, will you still be able to reach out to the person in question?
Blocking someone means to disable the chances of any communication in future. Discord guidelines support this and that means once you have been blocked, you can no longer send a request to your former friend, or react to their posts, or even send them messages.
In other words, you cannot reach out to your former Discord friend as long as you are blocked. Only when you have been unblocked, you can perform all the above.
You may try to reach out to that person using other social networking sites and reason with them or explain them your side of the story. If you give them the reassurance that you will try not to offend them in future then they might get soft and unblock you on Discord. That’s the only way to get unblocked on Discord.